We are sure Instagram is sad to see you go, but we are happy to help you Delete or Deactivate your account. The solution is slightly different depending on which platform you are on so please select below:
BEFORE YOU START
Make sure you download your data before deleting your account, Instagram allows you to do so. So go save all your valuable images and videos before committing to the deletion. Or just continue if you couldn’t care less.
Instagram is shaky on android and there is a chance you have to go to the browser to get this done. But still you can try the steps below:
1. Find your Profile
2. Tap the Menu in the top right
3. Tap Accounts Center
4. Tap Profiles and personal details
5. Approaching the finale, tap Manage besides the account you want to delete
6. Tap Deactivation or deletion and select the profile you’d like to delete
7. Finally, tap Delete account and Continue (If you want to Deactivate instead it’s the same steps but click Deactivate instead of Delete)
1. Click More in the sidebar and pick Settings
2. Click Accounts Center, then Profiles and personal details
3. Select Manage besides the account you want to delete
4. Click Deactivation or deletion
5. Select which account you’d like to delete or deactivate
6. Say goodbye by clicking Delete or Deactivate and finalizing by Continue
How long does Deletion take?
The process starts instantly but your data being wiped may take up to 90 days, Instagram may keep your data either way if they have an excuse like simple terms violations and even legal issues.
What’s the difference between deleting and deactivating?
Deleting an account is permanent and you’ll never be able to recover it, you lose all your posts, and all your history on Instagram.
Deactivating is simply pausing the account, your profile will disappear from public eyes completely but you’ll have the option to come back out of nowhere with your data still on there. Usually used in critical scenarios where you don’t want people to find you temporarily and when a private account isn’t enough.